Riddle 25 (or 23)

Ic eom wunderlicu wiht,     wifum on hyhte,
neahbuendum nyt;     nængum sceþþe
burgsittendra,     nymþe bonan anum.
Staþol min is steapheah,     stonde ic on bedde,
5     neoþan ruh nathwær.     Neþeð hwilum
ful cyrtenu     ceorles dohtor,
modwlonc meowle,     þæt heo on mec gripeð,
ræseð mec on reodne,     reafað min heafod,
fegeð mec on fæsten.     Feleþ sona
10     mines gemotes, seo þe mec nearwað,
wif wundenlocc.     Wæt bið þæt eage.

 

I am a wondrous creature, a joy to women,
a help to neighbours; I harm none
of the city-dwellers, except for my killer.
My base is steep and high, I stand in a bed,
5     shaggy somewhere beneath. Sometimes ventures
the very beautiful daughter of a churl,
a maid proud in mind, so that she grabs hold of me,
rubs me to redness, ravages my head,
forces me into a fastness. Immediately she feels
10     my meeting, the one who confines me,
the curly-locked woman. Wet will be that eye.

 

Highlight the box with your cursor to reveal the possible solutions: Onion, leek, mustard, phallus, etc.

4 thoughts on “Riddle 25 (or 23)

  1. Pingback: Commentary for Riddle 43 | The Riddle Ages

  2. Pingback: Commentary for Riddle 54 | The Riddle Ages

  3. Pingback: Commentary for Riddle 42 – The Riddle Ages

  4. Pingback: Commentary for Riddle 58 – The Riddle Ages

Leave a Reply

